Latest Announcements :
  • ADMISSION NOTIFICATION [Provisional Merit List (of 100% intake)]
  • ADMISSION NOTIFICATION [Provisional Merit List (of 80% seats)]

Latest News

Department of Political Science

The Department of Political Science started its journey in 2014 with 35 Post-Graduate students. In a short span of time the department has attracted quite numbers of dedicated young students all across the North Bengal including the state of Assam. At present the Department has 2 years regular semester based M.A program with the intake of 120 students. The Department is planning to introduce M. Phil and PhD program very soon. The Department is committed to promote cutting edge academic scholarship with an equal weightage on critical research and teaching. The Department with limitations has infrastructural facilities including LCDs, smart classrooms and modern teaching aids to meet the changing demands of robust teaching and research.


The department of Political Science locates itself within the context of the Indian society and its quest for democracy, freedom and justice. It prides itself in being a department that tries to work with on the difficult enterprise of understanding complex societies and their politics: in other words the world that they live in-from the large global context to the most intimate but equally politically significant personal context. The department understands education to mean more than a degree. It sees its role as providing a context for young to engage in critical thinking and share their views, a space where they could interrogate their own deeply cherished values and understand beliefs that are not their own. It seeks to create a context where young students learn to think analytically and reflect critically.

Prof. (Dr.) Kartick Das Professor & Head View
Prof. Gopal Sharma Professor View
Dr. Paritosh Barman Assistant Professor View
Dr. Aleya Mousami Sultana Assistant Professor View


Staff of the Department of Political Science
1 Biswadip Das Group D #

NB: # Agency Casual

Academic Programmes

  • Ph.D. in Political Science
  • M. Phil in Political Science
  • M.A. in Political Science
  • B.A. in Political Science Honours [ in the affiliated colleges, monitored by the Board of Studies (UG)]
  • Programme Course in Political Science [in the affiliated colleges, monitored by the Board of Studies (UG)]

Major Thrust Area of Research

The Department has identified six thrust areas of research, around which research projects and studies are/will be designed cutting across disciplinary boundaries.

  • Democracy and Inequality in modern India;
  • Inclusive Development - Inclusion-Exclusion Dichotomy, Inclusive Legislation, Social Exclusion of Indian Tribes;
  • Dalit, Tribal and Minority Studies - Constitutional Safeguards, Sixth Scheduled Areas, Tea Tribes and Ex-Tea Garden Tribes, Issues of Governance, Issues of Tribal Development;
  • Financial Inclusion - Economic Inclusion of Women, Entrepreneurship Abilities of Women SHGs and Women Empowerment, SHG Bank Linkage programme;
  • Contemporary Political Philosophy;
  • Mutual Fund.

Click here to download PG Syllabus

Click here to download Ph.D. Courswork Syllabus

Quick Query

Find Us

Our Address

Panchanan Nagar, Vivekananda Street, Cooch Behar,
West Bengal, India - 736101

Phone : +91-9476468333(10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.),